LA Take 2 – Day 9

This morning I got Bleu put on the car rental agreement so he can relax and drive. My driving has lost it’s London edge so I’m a bit sloooow.

Back at the studio it was fluting time… check out what I had to play… not easy, but I had SO much fun doing it. And Bleu was VERY complimentary about my playing and I know if I had sucked he would not have hidden it.

And here’s me doing my thing…

Once that was done it was chocolate time and I took a bit of a risk today and bought … wait for it… 100% Cocoa. Joe was REALLY excited and it did not disappoint… pretty good.

Some of Joe’s friend popped in for a visit. I have met so many nice people while I have been here… all them so relaxed and fun. And these folks were no exception.

Talking of Joe… after we devoured the best ever fish and potato tacos, Joe recorded some drums and piano on Floating Away… and did a very tasty job…

We spent a while watching the back of Bleu’s head while he did his thing with with all his bells and whistles. When he suggested adding banjolele I took no time in whipping it out… 🙂

The photo I really wish I had gotten was when all three of us recorded some clapping… just to capture the pure joy/insanity on the guys’ faces. It was a kodak moment.

It got to 8:30 and we were starving so headed over to the Monday night food truck night and got there just in time. It was such a cool place. In the grounds of a church a whole bunch of gourmet food trucks turn up. I had the best burger followed by a red velvet truffle…. yum.

Then back to the studio to work some more on Anytime Soon. When we started this song a few days ago and Bleu was adding some really weird stuff I wasn’t sure, but listening fresh I LOVE it. He comes up with such interesting ideas that I could never think of. I’ve jumped down a musical rabbit hole and am loving it!

2 comments

  1. Helen, it sounds like you are having so much fun! And I love the food comments, especially about the chocolate. Next time you head to LA you should take the boys some goodies from Hot Chocolates. My family in California swear it is the best chocolate in the world. When I visit them I often declare over $100 of chocolate at the border. So far, no one’s even raised an eyebrow.

Leave a Reply

