LA Take 2 – Day 10 – String Quartet heaven

Tiredness kicked in today, partly due to some flower blooming and setting of my allergies… so I had to buy extra chocolate today.

We had the string quartet coming in today so Bleu and Joe spent the time preparing all the parts for them. This gave me a little time to rehearse the songs I will be playing tomorrow at Room 5. Not sure whether to go with the ‘pick and card’ type of gig or actually put my songs into some cohesive order. Probably should do the latter although I do like the element of slight disorder.

Keatly from pigFactory popped in again today to see how we were doing. His toes were tapping so I think he likes it. He hung around for a while which was nice.

The string quartet, called The Section Quartet, along with their sound engineer arrived and set up and were the most lovely people… and so incredibly talented. When they started playing my tune I welled up… and those of you who know me, know I am not a weller… I lack the sentiment gene, but somehow I found it today. Beautiful!

On violins were Eric Gorfain, Daphne Chen (with the lovely boots… I had boot envy), on viola Leah Katz (with great hair… short and blond), on cello Richard Dodd, and wonderfully engineered by Steven Rhodes. This was certainly one of the highlights of this recording.

Then it was more mexican food time and Bleu and I headed back to his to go over some tunes for tomorrow… sounding awesome… can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

