Desserts

Yesterday I did something I rarely do… I confessed to feeling stressed on Facebook. It was only when I got comments asking why, because my life looks great, that I realized that I keep the irritating times in my life to myself. At least in terms of social networking.

I have had an amazing 3 or 4 years, both musically and personally and I feel very blessed. I have a wonderful family, friends and career for which I am very grateful.

But this doesn’t mean that life doesn’t infuriate me sometimes. It doesn’t mean I don’t go a little crazy sometimes… I am an ‘artist’ after all 🙂 And now that my official job is a songwriter, there is a pressure to write really good songs. I know that the pressure comes from me, but with this new album I feel like I have stepped into a different league. One where people are writing hit songs all the time and getting ‘cuts’.

In the past I have just written for me and hoped that others would like it. Now I am writing for a publisher. Don’t get me wrong… I have a great publisher, but they are betting on me to come up with the goods and I want to make them proud but I have been feeling like I should be writing and sounding like other, more successful artists.

So last night when I put on Facebook “Stressssed” someone mentioned that it was just ‘desserts’ backwards. After drooling at the thought, something relaxed in me and a very loud thought came into my head.

It is better to be the best version of me than a poor imitation of someone else.

With that in mind, I took a day off writing and tomorrow I am going to do what I do best and write like me.

6 comments

  1. You are a brilliant songwriter/singer and brighten up all our lives. For that we must be thankful and you should be proud! Just enjoy life (and keep up the good work!) xx The desserts sound good too!

Leave a comment