Heading to LA

While packing for LA I was thinking about this new album… and figuring out how to pack for sunshine after months of rain and snow…

Sometimes I wonder how I ended up here, about to head to LA to record with a great producer and other very talented musicians.

I spent years as a comedian travelling on my own, performing on my own and creating on my own. Then I spent some more years as a songwriter, doing it all on my own again. And I always liked it that way. My successes and failures were all my own. I had no one to answer to. But it could get lonely.

I can’t tell you how great it feels to have a publisher that truly believes in what I do. I was talking to another musician the other day and I told him to hold out for a manager/booking agent that *really* wants to represent him because it make for a great working relationship. And now I will be working with a respected producer, Bleu, who also believes in my work. I can’t wait to get fresh, talented ears on my music and see what direction it takes. It’s very exciting.

People keep asking me what is going to happen with this new direction/album and I say, like all previous ventures in my life, I am going to go in with an open mind, consider all opportunities and see where it takes me. When I decided to try and write for TV etc I had no idea that in 3 years I would be here… so I have no idea where I will be in another 3 and I think I like it that way.

Back to the packing…

4 comments

  1. Congrats and good luck, Helen! Can’t wait to hear your new stuff. You are truly a trailblazer and on your way to bigger and better adventures. Thanks for sharing them with us 🙂

Leave a Reply

