Taylor Horror!

A weeks ago I was travelling to California for the West Coast Songwriter’s Conference, which was a great conference by the way! But drama unfolded before I have even left Canada.

A terrible thing happened to my beloved Taylor guitar – a gift from all my friends on my 40th birthday a few years ago.

After checking in at the airport I took my guitar to the ‘special’ luggage area and was asked to place it on the conveyor belt. There was just a short section of belt before the guitar would disappear through a small archway.

While lifting the guitar (which was in a very sturdy case) onto the belt, the top caught on the archway while the bottom hit the belt and kept moving…. so fast that there was nothing I could do except shout “Nooooooooooo”. I think the whole airport heard me. The top section of the guitar bent right over. It was like watching a horror movie for stringed instruments.

When I opened the case this is what I found

I have to admit I cried.

Now everyone asks me “was it United?”…. and yes it was. But I put the guitar on the belt and it was just one of those freak things that I couldn’t have foreseen and it was not United’s fault, despite their terrible reputation. I can’t count the amount of people who have send me the ‘United Breaks Guitars‘ youtube link. 🙂 In fact the lady at United was trying so hard to be helpful and felt awful for what had happened.

As sad as it was, it is just a thing and nothing bad happened to my kids so it’s all good. I have insurance, who have been very helpful and so now have a new Taylor. My wonderful husband suggested I upgrade to a better guitar, so I have gone from the 314CE to the 814CE and it plays like a dream. Look how happy it makes me.

For everyone who keeps asking… when I took the old one to a Luthier for an autopsy, the words out of their mouth was ‘Ooh, that’s bad… it’s good for kindling’. So I shall be framing the head as a memory of the wonderful generosity of my friends.

Gonna write some new tunes now… 🙂

9 comments

  1. What a nightmare! So glad you were able to have it replaced to your satisfaction. If that were me, I’d probably STILL be cryin’…I love happy endings though. Have fun with that!

  2. well, i guess all’s well that ends well. but OUCH. that had to have hurt– you AND your Taylor.
    i only travel with my least favorite and least expensive guitar. i would be CRUSHED, but i would not DIE if something happened…
    glad it wasn’t YOU, or your kids, Helen! 😉

Leave a Reply

